Adventures With Audrey- Rescued Horses

on

My adventure started this morning actually. Not at all how I had planned the day to be. But I was scrolling through different hiking trails to see where there were wild flowers. And there was supposedly one trail in the mountain range 7 minutes from my apartment. So, without talking myself out of it, I laced up my hiking boots and grabbed my camera and off I went, hoping to see these flowers!

The specific trail was actually hard to find. I ended up finding it on “all trails” and it led me to the trailhead. I get out of my car, and, what the heck, there was a little random corral of horses….? I felt like I got lost and ended up at a retired rodeo field.

I get my camera out and walked closer in, amazed at how many beautiful horses there were! I saw a guy working there and asked if it was ok that I take pictures. He said yes, but just to make sure, gave me the number of the owner. I called, and the owner was incredibly nice and asked if I knew about the mission behind the horses. I didn’t. So he was so kind to tell me about the horses. They were actually all rescues!! They do awesome events, heal the horses, re-home them, etc- and even were bringing 5 more this weekend!

I felt my heart go out to these amazing creatures and had such a wonderful time taking photos. After probably a good 20 minutes, I felt like I got some beautiful shots and then remembered I came to look for wildflowers! I went on the trail but there were no flowers. But I felt my heart was already full with seeing these beautiful animals. Such an unexpected gift and I was so glad I had the sudden urge to get out my hiking boots. My week has been made. While I have about 100 photos, I will post just a few of them. Please enjoy and be kind to these beautiful animals. 💕

Leave a comment